Texas law makes it illegal to fire an employee in retaliation for filing a workers' compensation claim. But that doesn't mean employees are untouchable just because they're out on workers' comp. You can legally discharge injured workers under a reasonable absence-control policy that applies to all employees, regardless of how they were injured or became ill.
Case in point: Martin Ramirez filed for workers' comp after being hurt at work. The company had a no-fault absence policy that mandated termination for any employee who was absent more than 120 days over a one-year period.
When Ramirez's leave extended beyond 120 days, the company fired him. He filed a claim for retaliatory discharge under state workers' comp law.
But the Texas Court of Appeals dismissed the case, saying this was a reasonable absence-control policy applied to all employees, not selectively to employees who were hurt on the job. (Ramirez v. Encore Wire, No. 05-05- 00536, Texas Court of Appeals, 2006)
- How to Fire an Employee the Legal Way: 6 Termination Guidelines
- Go ahead and set up employee surveillance, but be careful how you pick your spots
- Proactive steps to turn around workplace disputes
- DHS Issues 'Final' No-Match Letter Rule, While Critics Vow to Continue Opposition
- U.S. Department of Labor approves Illinois' OSHA plan