Log when you told employee about adverse decisions — Business Management Daily: Free Reports on Human Resources, Employment Law, Office Management, Office Communication, Office Technology and Small Business Tax Business Management Daily

Log when you told employee about adverse decisions

Get PDF file

by on
in Human Resources

Employees who want to sue for discrimination under the Texas Code have to file state charges within 180 days of alleged discriminatory conduct. The time is measured from the date the employee learns of the decision.

That’s why it’s important to document that you let the employee know he was being demoted, denied a promotion or is scheduled for termination.

Recent case: Michael Jordan worked as a professor for Lamar University and applied for tenure. He was informed in writing that his request had been denied and that his contract would not be renewed.

Jordan waited until his last day of work to file his discrimination complaint, far more than 180 days later. The court said the clock started ticking the day he received the tenure-denial letter. (Lamar University v. Jordan, No. 09-00292, Court of Appeals of Texas, 9th District, 2011)

Leave a Comment


Previous post:

Next post: