• LinkedIn
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Google+

The 5 levels of delegation

by on
in Best-Practices Leadership,Leaders & Managers

As a leader, are you making it clear which level of authority you are conferring when you delegate a task? Keep these five very different levels of delegation in mind, says Michael Hyatt, chairman and CEO of Thomas Nelson Publishers:

Level 1: Do exactly what I have asked you to do. I’ve already researched the options and determined a course of action.

Level 2: Research the topic and report back to me. We will discuss it and I will decide what to do.

Level 3: Research the topic, outline the options and tell me what you think we should do. If I agree, I will authorize you to move forward.

Level 4: Make a decision and then tell me what you did. I trust you to do the research. Just keep me in the loop; I don’t want to be surprised.

Level 5: Make whatever decision you think is best. No need to report back. I trust you. I know you will follow through. You have my support.

— Adapted from “The Five Levels of Delegation,” Michael Hyatt, Intentional Leadership.

Like what you've read? ...Republish it and share great business tips!

Attention: Readers, Publishers, Editors, Bloggers, Media, Webmasters and more...

We believe great content should be read and passed around. After all, knowledge IS power. And good business can become great with the right information at their fingertips. If you'd like to share any of the insightful articles on BusinessManagementDaily.com, you may republish or syndicate it without charge.

The only thing we ask is that you keep the article exactly as it was written and formatted. You also need to include an attribution statement and link to the article.

" This information is proudly provided by Business Management Daily.com: http://www.businessmanagementdaily.com/12897/the-5-levels-of-delegation "

Leave a Comment