Can we use a tip credit to make sure our employees make at least the minimum wage? — Business Management Daily: Free Reports on Human Resources, Employment Law, Office Management, Office Communication, Office Technology and Small Business Tax Business Management Daily
Q. It has been our practice to pay our waiters and waitresses less than the minimum wage because we include their tips in their hourly wage. Is this legal?
A. No. The practice is lawful under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act, as long as employees’ tips and wages total at least the minimum wage, but that’s not the case in California.
In California, an employer cannot use an employee’s tips as a credit toward its obligation to pay the minimum wage. California Labor Code §351 requires employers to pay tipped employees the minimum wage in addition to any tips left for them by patrons.
The federal government predicts its new crackdown on employee misclassification will reap at least $7 billion in federal revenue over the next 10 years. Don't become a notch on the IRS' belt! Discover your compliance mistakes now—before the feds do—and learn how to manage your independent contractors legally....Click here to find out more.