Q. I run a small company with fewer than 50 employees. I was recently approached by a male employee requesting “paternity leave.” Must I provide him paid or unpaid leave upon the birth of his newborn child?
A. When a New Jersey employer is dealing with an employee’s request for leave due to the birth of a child, the employer must consider the federal , the New Jersey (NJFLA) and New Jersey’s Insurance Act.
Both the FMLA and the NJFLA provide for 12 weeks of leave. However, because you employ fewer than 50 people, you are not covered by either the FMLA or the NJFLA.
Even so, your employee may be entitled to paid leave through the Family Leave Insurance Act. The Family Leave Insurance Act is a worker-funded insurance program that allows all New Jersey workers to take up to six weeks off to care for a newborn.
You may require your employee to take up to two weeks of available sick or vacation pay, and the employee requesting the leave must provide you with as much as 30 days’ advance notice.
Also, as a small business, you do not have to hold the employee’s position open but may find a permanent replacement.
Like what you've read? ...Republish it and share great business tips!
Attention: Readers, Publishers, Editors, Bloggers, Media, Webmasters and more...
We believe great content should be read and passed around. After all, knowledge IS power. And good business can become great with the right information at their fingertips. If you'd like to share any of the insightful articles on BusinessManagementDaily.com, you may republish or syndicate it without charge.
The only thing we ask is that you keep the article exactly as it was written and formatted. You also need to include an attribution statement and link to the article.
" This information is proudly provided by Business Management Daily.com: http://www.businessmanagementdaily.com/10648/is-paid-paternity-leave-required "