New Jersey is one of two states in the nation that offers paid
Of those taking leave, 81% took time off to bond with a newborn or newly adopted child. The rest used the time to care for a seriously ill family member.
Employees fund the program entirely through a 0.09% deduction, up to a maximum of $26.01 in 2009. In 2010, the deduction rises to 0.12%.
The program provides up to two-thirds of the workers’ normal pay up to $546 per week.
Employers may require employees to use up to two weeks of paid leave before taking paid family leave. Workers must provide employers with prior notice and medical certification of the need for leave.
- How to Fire an Employee the Legal Way: 6 Termination Guidelines
- Recognize The Legal Dangers Of Considering Military Service In Employment Decisions
- Switched at birth: DCS women will get almost $1 million
- New Jersey Temporary Disability Benefits Law
- Retaliation nation: Manage adverse actions to lessen retaliation